Voting Information for 2020 Election Day -  APRIL 14, 2020

The District will combine with the City of Sioux Falls for its annual election for membership on the Sioux Falls School Board,  The Board will have one vacancy this year when Cynthia H. Mickelson's term expires.

Any person wishing to become a candidate for the office of School Board must complete and circulate a nominating petition to be signed by 20 registered voters of the Sioux Falls School District.  Candidates must be a registered voter residing in the Sioux Falls School District.  Petitions will be available from the Office of the Business Manager beginning at 7:30 a.m., Friday, January 31, 2020.  Petitions must be returned by 5:00 p.m., February 28, 2020 or postmarked by 5:00 p.m., February 28, 2020. 

VOTER REGISTRATION - You may register to vote in the annual election by completing a voter registration form and returning it to your county auditor.  Voter registration forms must be turned into the county auditor's office by 5:00 p.m., March 30, 2020.  Voter Registration forms are available at   This form may also be used to change your address, name, party affiliation, etc.

ABSENTEE VOTING - In person at the Auditor's Office, Minnehaha County Administration Building, 415 N. Dakota Ave.  Registered voters can vote in-person prior to election day by bringing along a valid photo identification card (ID), such as a driver’s license, tribal photo ID, local high school ID, college or university ID from a South Dakota institution, or a passport or other federal government issued ID. If a voter does not have a photo ID, they must sign a personal identification affidavit and will vote a regular ballot.

Absentee Voting by Mail Prior to Election Day

If you are unable to cast a ballot on Election Day, you may be eligible to vote by absentee ballot. To vote by absentee ballot, a voter must request an absentee ballot application from the county in which they reside. That application is available below.

Those filling out the application must provide a copy of the Driver’s license, tribal ID, High School, College or University Student ID or a passport or other federal governmental ID. If they do not have a copy attached, then their signature must be notarized. The voter must also make sure they check the box that says they have lived in the Municipality/School District for 30 days in the past year. The absentee application must be sent to the county auditor’s office.

Lincoln County Marlene Sweeter
104 N Main, Ste 110 Canton, SD 57013-1703
(605) 764-2581
(605) 764-0134
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Minnehaha County Bob Litz
415 N Dakota Ave Sioux Falls, SD 57104-2465
(605) 367-4220
(605) 367-7409
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

In South Dakota, the County Election Official must receive your application for absentee ballot no later than 5:00 pm the day before the election. Make sure you are registered before you apply to vote by absentee ballot.

Absentee Voting by Messenger

In the event of confinement because of sickness or disability, a qualified voter may apply in writing and obtain an absentee ballot by authorized messenger. An authorized messenger delivers the ballot from the qualified voter and then delivers the marked ballot to the District election official. Any application for a ballot by authorized messenger must be received by the person in charge of the election before 3:00 pm the day of the election.