32nd Annual Teacher of the Year 2020

Good luck to all who were nominated!
Nominations for Teacher of the Year 2020 are now closed.

Sioux Falls School District Teacher of the Year Program

Each year the Sioux Falls Public Schools and Vern Eide Motorcars jointly sponsor the Dr. John W. Harris Teacher of the Year Award. Full time teachers are eligible for the award and $4,000 in prize money donated by Vern Eide Motorcars.

The winner is announced at a private reception on March 9th, 2020 at 7:00 pm, at the El Riad Shrine Mosque.

Explain why you feel this nominee should be the Dr. John W. Harris 2020 Teacher of the Year, providing specific examples of how the teacher differentiates instruction based on student needs, designs engaging lessons to improve classroom and/or school culture, and inspires students to recognize their potential impact and role in the larger community.

The Sioux Falls School District's Teacher of the Year becomes eligible for the Regional Teacher of the Year Award. The South Dakota Teacher of the Year is selected from the Regional Teacher Of the Year representatives. For more information on the South Dakota Teacher of the Year program visit HERE.

Contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or call the Sioux Falls School District Superintendent's Office at (605) 367-7951 with questions.

Teacher of the Year Nominees 2020

Jenna AlbersRoosevelt High SchoolEnglish & Accelerated English
Michelle AlbertyLaura Wilder Elementary2nd Grade
Mike BarthPatrick Henry Middle SchoolGifted Education & Math
Alisha BellRobert Frost Elementary4th Grade
Kathy BenzSusan B Anthony ElementaryRISE Kindergarten & 1st Grade
Jennifer BirathJohn F Kennedy Elementary2nd Grade
Michele BlairWashington High SchoolEnglish & English Development
Leonardo BohorquezSonia Sotomayor Elementary5th Grade
Lucas BartolomeSonia Sotomayor Elementary3rd Grade
Megan BottFinalistWhittier Middle SchoolFinalist7th Grade EnglishFinalist
Jennifer BoyleHarvey Dunn Elementary1st Grade
Jennifer BreidenbachR.F. Pettigrew Elementary2nd Grade
Krista BrostSusan B Anthony Elementary3rd Grade
Penny BrunkenCTE AcademyAcademy of Finance
Susan BullLincoln High SchoolAP English Literature & Composition; Creative Writing
Mario ChiarelloLincoln High SchoolOrchestra
Heather ConradSonia Sotomayor ElementaryPhysical Education
Luke CumbeeRoosevelt High SchoolSpeech, Debate & AP Research
Cindy CumminsLincoln High SchoolEnglish & Yearbook
Eva Delgado GomezEdison Middle SchoolSocial Studies
Alysa Eberhart-RenfrowDiscovery Elementary2nd Grade
Erica EnglishSusan B Anthony ElementaryKindergarten
Brooke EstepJohn Harris ElementaryKindergarten
Janet Fleming-MartinLincoln High SchoolNative American Connections & Psychology
Elsa FloresSonia Sotomayor Elementary3rd Grade
Becca FrahmJohn F Kennedy ElementaryKingergarten & 1st Grade RISE
Timothy FurnessEdison Middle School6th Grade Honors English & Language Arts
Grace GillRoosevelt High SchoolGovernment & AP Government
Sara GohmanGarfield Elementary5th Grade
Sarah GreerR.F. Pettigrew ElementaryKindergarten
George HawkinsNew Technology High SchoolGovernment & American History
Lori HeberlingHawthorne ElementaryKindergarten
Kristi IrsfeldJohn F Kennedy Elementary5th Grade
Brandi IveyRobert Frost Elementary2nd Grade
Michele JensenRoosevelt High SchoolBiology
Megan KnustSusan B Anthony ElementaryArt
Amy KnutsonHarvey Dunn Elementary4th Grade
Myra KoernerFinalistR.F. Pettigrew ElementaryFinalistKindergartenFinalist
Tessa KreidermacherSonia Sotomayor ElementaryElementary Art
Amy LarsenRoosevelt High SchoolSpecial Education English
Brock MoultonGeorge McGovern Middle School7th Grade Geography
Cheryl MunkvoldFinalistCentral ServicesFinalistEarly Childhood Birth-ThreeFinalist
Victor NaranjoSonia Sotomayor ElementaryKindergarten
Barb NewittRoosevelt High SchoolAP Physics 1 &2
Bradley NewittLincoln High SchoolAP Physics
Erin NguyenRoosevelt High SchoolArt
Sierra O'DonnellEugene Field Elementary5th Grade
Jessica OvermanJohn Harris Elementary3rd Grade
Lorena PantojaSonia Sotomayor Elementary4th Grade
Xavier PastranoLincoln High SchoolEnglish
Gary PedersonPatrick Henry Middle SchoolBand
Katie PesickaRoosevelt High SchoolMath
Lance PetersWashington High SchoolRISE Social Studies
Wilfredo PetitSonia Sotomayor Elementary1st Grade
Jessica PomerenkeRoosevelt High SchoolGeometry & Precalculus
Mike PowersRoosevelt High SchoolSpanish & Broadcasting
Maria RenteriaSonia Sotomayor Elementary1st Grade
Janelle RevierCTE AcademyCulinary Arts
Katie RickSusan B Anthony ElementaryRISE 3rd-5th Grade
Lymari RoblesSonia Sotomayor Elementary4th Grade
Molly RostHarvey Dunn ElementaryKindergarten
Dawn SiglRobert Frost Elementary1st Grade
Melody SitterRoosevelt High SchoolOnline Learning Center
Amber SmithJohn F Kennedy ElementaryKindergarten
Stacy SvendsenRoosevelt High SchoolSpanish & AP
Sarah ThoeneR.F. Pettigrew Elementary2nd Grade
Eulalia TriaduSonia Sotomayor Elementary4th Grade
Lynette WagnerRosa Parks ElementaryKindergarten

Past Winners

Lynn ThomasonLincoln High School2019
Kimberly DobsonHorace Mann Elementary2018
Stefanie HageJohn Harris Elementary2017
Janet SwierWashington High School2016
Gretchen JohnsonCleveland Elementary2015
Sarah HenrichsAxtell Park Middle School2014
Allison HutchinsonCareer & Technical Education Academy2013
Donna LeiningerWashington High School2012
Nicole GardnerHarvey Dunn Elementary2011
Teresa TimmermanFinalistLincoln High SchoolFinalist2010Finalist
Cher MayTerry Redlin Elementary2009
Barbara MyersAxtell Park Middle School2008
Sharon AndrewsChallenge Center2007
Karyn VeenisPatrick Henry Middle School2006
Barbara DowlingHawthorne Elementary2005
Brent EliasonWashington High School2004
Roxie AhlbrechtRobert Frost Elementary2003
Sally RiceEdison Middle School2002
Jeff LukensRoosevelt High School2001
Linda CarmodyEugene Field Elementary2000
Audrey LofgrenRobert Frost Elementary1999
Bob DolanWashington High School1998
Alice SylliaasenEugene Field Elementary1997
Don ReiffenbergerCleveland Elementary1996
Don DeckerLincoln High School1995
Judy DavisPatrick Henry Middle School1994
Phyllis KrugerHarvey Dunn Elementary1993
Julie AshworthHawthorne Elementary1992
Lois SudbeckLittle Flower Elementary1991
Sharon SchuelerRoosevelt High School1990
Joan ConnerLincoln High School1989