34th Annual Teacher of the Year 2022

The 2022 Dr. John W. Harris Teacher of the Year event will be held on February 28th, 2022.

Nominations for the 34th Annual Dr. John W. Harris Teacher of the Year Award are now Closed!
Nomination Submission Deadline was Monday, January 17th, 2022

Outstanding, full-time teachers in ANY accredited Sioux Falls school are eligible for the award and $4,000 in prize money donated by Vern Eide Motorcars! Classroom teachers that have at least three (3) full years of teaching experience, a class of his/her own and teaches students at least three (3) or more hours per day, five (5) days a week, for six (6) or more calendar months during a school year are eligible.

Criteria for Selection include:

  • Differentiates instruction based on meeting student needs
  • Designs engaging lessons to improve classroom and/or school culture
  • Inspires students to recognize their potential impact and role in the larger community

Additional Things to Consider:

  • The desire for professional growth
  • Community involvement
  • Dedication to the teaching profession
  • Rapport with students, parents, and staff

Past Winners

 Ann RobertsonWhittier MS2021
Janelle RevierCTE Academy2020
Lynn ThomasonLincoln High School2019
Kimberly DobsonHorace Mann Elementary2018
Stefanie HageJohn Harris Elementary2017
Janet SwierWashington High School2016
Gretchen JohnsonCleveland Elementary2015
Sarah HenrichsAxtell Park Middle School2014
Allison HutchinsonCareer & Technical Education Academy2013
Donna LeiningerFinalistWashington High SchoolFinalist2012Finalist
Nicole GardnerHarvey Dunn Elementary2011
Teresa TimmermanLincoln High School2010
Cher MayTerry Redlin Elementary2009
Barbara MyersAxtell Park Middle School2008
Sharon AndrewsChallenge Center2007
Karyn VeenisPatrick Henry Middle School2006
Barbara DowlingHawthorne Elementary2005
Brent EliasonWashington High School2004
Roxie AhlbrechtRobert Frost Elementary2003
Sally RiceEdison Middle School2002
Jeff LukensRoosevelt High School2001
Linda CarmodyEugene Field Elementary2000
Audrey LofgrenRobert Frost Elementary1999
Bob DolanWashington High School1998
Alice SylliaasenEugene Field Elementary1997
Don ReiffenbergerCleveland Elementary1996
Don DeckerLincoln High School1995
Judy DavisPatrick Henry Middle School1994
Phyllis KrugerHarvey Dunn Elementary1993
Julie AshworthHawthorne Elementary1992
Lois SudbeckLittle Flower Elementary1991
Sharon SchuelerRoosevelt High School1990
Joan ConnerLincoln High School1989

To be considered for Regional and State Teacher of the Year, the District Candidate should:

  • Have a superior ability to inspire students of ALL backgrounds and abilities to learn;
  • Be an exceptionally skilled and dedicated classroom teacher;
  • Have the respect and admiration of students, parents, and colleagues;
  • Play an active and useful role in the community as well as in the school; and
  • Be poised, articulate, and have the energy to withstand the demanding schedule that would accompany selection as the South Dakota Teacher of the Year.

District Teacher of the Year becomes a nominee for his or her district’s Regional Teacher of the Year Award. If the District TOY is selected as the Regional TOY, he or she becomes a nominee for the South Dakota TOY. If chosen as the South Dakota TOY, he/she then becomes a candidate for the National TOY.