Menu Content
Home > For Parents & Students > Teacher of the Year Program

Recommend Print

Dr. John W. Harris Teacher of the Year

The Teacher of the Year Nomination deadline has passed.  Thank you to all who have nominated a teacher(s).  We appreciate your support of great teachers in the great city of Sioux Falls.

Sioux Falls School District Teacher of the Year Program

Each year the Sioux Falls Public Schools and Vern Eide Motorcars jointly sponsor the Dr. John W. Harris Teacher of the Year Award. Full time teachers are eligible for the award and $4,000 in prize money donated by Vern Eide Motorcars.

Classroom teachers may be nominated by a colleague, parent, administrator, student, self, or community member by filling out the nomination form. The form must be submitted to the superintendent's office, along with three letters of recommendation. See the Nomination form for more details and deadline information.

Criteria for Selection include:
  • Commitment to lifelong learning
  • Effectiveness in meeting students' needs
  • Impact on student achievement
  • Effectiveness of home-school cooperation
  • Community involvement to promote school-community relations

The deadline for nominations is Friday, February 20, 2015. The winner is announced at a private reception in March. The Sioux Falls School District's Teacher of the Year becomes eligible for the Regional Teacher of the Year Award. The South Dakota Teacher of the Year is selected from the Regional TOY representatives. For more information on the South Dakota Teacher of the Year program visit:

Contact or call the Sioux Falls School District Superintendent's Office at 367-7951 with questions regarding the nomination process and deadlines.