Congratulations to all the outstanding nominees!

Teacher of the Year

The nominees are in for the 31st Annual Dr. John W. Harris Sioux Falls Teacher of the Year Award! 79 teachers have been nominated for the cities most prestigious award for excellence in teaching, sponsored by the Sioux Falls School District and Vern Eide Motorcars. Any teacher from an accredited preK-12 educational institution in Sioux Falls may be nominated. A committee of judges will choose finalists for the award and the winner will be named at a dessert reception on Monday, March 4, 2019 at the El Riad Shrine Mosque, Sioux Falls.

These teacher were nominated for their ability to build relationships with students and families, their work to differentiate instruction, and the commitment to overall educational excellence. Nominations included heart-warming stories of care and concern exuded by teachers; evidence of rigorous instruction and high expectations for student success.